Traveling in Boston: APRIL31-MAY3 2017

Here’s where I went during my trip!

(Cover photo courtesy of my friend, Amy!)

My friend and I decided to take a weekend getaway to Boston recently and I decided to document all the food we ate. Here are all of the restaurants, in order.

Rankings (based on how much I liked the food, how much I thought it was worth, and if I’ll go back again):

Luke’s Lobster Back Bay: 7.5/10 (delicious, but I’d rather go to Red’s Best)

Neptune Oyster: 8/10 (8 because I probably won’t go back.. unless I have a lot of money to spend haha. But would still recommend to those who haven’t been yet and have some extra money on their hands!)

Marliave: 9.5/10 (would definitely go back for drinks + $1 happy hour oysters)

Emack & Bolio’s Ice Cream: 2/10

Red’s Best: 9/10 (would definitely go back for the lobster rolls and the clam chowder)

Crescent Ridge Ice Cream: 6/10

Tatte Bakery: 5/10 (yummy baked goods, but ehhh probably wouldn’t go back)

 

LUKE’S LOBSTER BACK BAY

HOURS:

Sunday-Wednesday: 11AM-9PM

Thursday-Saturday: 11AM-10PM

PHONE: (857) 350-4626

ADDRESS: 75 Exeter St, Boston, MA 02116  MAP

Unfortunately, I was starving, so I forgot to take a picture of my lobster roll before devouring it. Both of these photos are courtesy of my friend, Amy.

The clam chowder in a bread bowl was $13, the lobster roll was $17 (I split it with Amy).

Comments: the clam chowder was delicious, as was the lobster roll. However, the lobster roll size was on the smaller end (we split it in half, each got about 3 bites). Would definitely come again for the clam chowder and would recommend trying to lobster roll at least once, but I probably won’t be ordering the latter again just because I don’t think it’s worth the price a second time around.

Check out their website for their full menu/prices!

 

NEPTUNE OYSTER

HOURS:

Sunday-Thursday: 11:30AM-9:30PM

Friday-Saturday: 11:30AM-10:30PM

PHONE: (617) 742-3474

ADDRESS: 63 Salem St # 1, Boston, MA 02113 MAP

(Sorry for the oddly colored pictures, the restaurant was really dark and the pictures came out with a very red tint, so this was my effort to remove the redness with vsco lol.)

We went to Neptune Oyster around 7 on a freezing Friday night. We ended up waiting somewhere between 1.5-2 hours for our table of 2. When we checked back in around 8:30 to see how far along the waitlist we were, the restaurant was starting to turn people away who didn’t already have their names down and told them to come back at 10 to see if others had canceled. There’s not much waiting space inside the restaurant, but just a block away is a bar where my friend and I went to get drinks to pass the time! Just be sure to be nearby while you’re waiting because the restaurant only holds your spot for 5 minutes after they call.

Since we waited for so long, we decided to splurge during our meal.

OYSTERS ($2-4/each): When we were seated, we got a card that had all of the oysters listed along with short descriptions of the flavors. We got 7 types of oysters (2 each) to try a variety and the cherrystone clams (so sweet)!

WELLFLEET CLAM CHOWDER ($12): the consistency was a lot more watery than expected and I probably wouldn’t order it again because I love the thick consistency of clam chowder. Great flavor though!

LOBSTER ROLL ($27): would 10/10 recommend ordering this. Warm, buttery, absolutely delicious… Definitely on the pricey side, but hey, if you’re going to Neptune, you have to expect to be shelling out a little more than usual. My friend and I agreed that we would definitely choose this lobster roll over the roll from Luke’s Lobster (taking into consideration: price, size, taste). (Also, we split the roll too so it was a little cheaper). Definitely enough to be a meal on its own (my friend and I just have huge appetites).

NEPTUNE BURGER ($19): unfortunately my eyes were too big for my stomach, and I was pretty stuffed by the time the burger came out. Took two bites, and it was absolutely heavenly. Between the burger and the lobster roll though, I would definitely recommend the latter.

Turns out the guys sitting on our left were also from Texas, so I ended up striking conversation with them. They were super friendly and offered us samples of their food! They had ordered the octopus cocktail, another appetizer that I can’t recall, the lobster roll with salad, and the squid ink risotto. From what I recall, I liked the octopus cocktail, but not enough to shell out money or stomach space for it. The squid ink risotto was good with several huge chunks of lobster, but I also wouldn’t choose it over the lobster roll and oysters.

10/10 would recommend coming here to experience it! Amazing food, but high prices. Long wait.

Check out their website for their full menu and prices!

 

Marliave

HOURS:

All week: 11AM-1AM

PHONE: (617) 422-0004  

ADDRESS: 10 Bosworth St, Boston, MA 02108  MAP

Hands down our favorite place in Boston! $1 Oyster Happy Hour from 4:00-6:00PM, 9:00-10:00PM! Definitely worth it.

Drinks were also very unique! But THE OYSTERS were wonderful and sweet. I’m craving them as I’m writing this (Texas unfortunately doesn’t have the best oysters). My favorite were the Duxbury oysters!

The Wellington ($38) and the Rabbit ($32) were both extremely satisfactory, but my heart is set on the oysters.

Also 10/10 would recommend this place for their happy hour! Check it out if you’re in town. This was probably one of the highlights of my entire trip.

Here’s their website for more information!

 

Emack & Bolio’s

HOURS:

Monday-Friday: 12-11PM

Saturday-Sunday: 12-11:30PM

PHONE: (617) 262-1569

ADDRESS: 140 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA 02215 MAP

Emack and Bolio's

TBH, I wasn’t impressed. I only included this because I went to the one in Taiwan (that was much more impressive). See my post here about it!

The mango sherbert was tasty! But the other flavors I tried at this location were meh. I won’t be going a second time, if I’m back in Boston, because I’d rather try other places.

Boston Commons

Boston Commons

There are a couple food stands that sell this throughout the Boston Commons! If you decide to stop by, I definitely recommend getting one! It’s basically just fried dough with powdered sugar sprinkled on top. It was a pretty unhealthy, but I mean, it’s fried dough with powdered sugar on top. It’s delicious.

 

Red’s Best (Boston Public Market)

HOURS:

All week: 8AM-8PM

PHONE: (617) 428-0033

ADDRESS: 37 Fish Pier St W, Boston, MA 02210 MAP

THIS. WAS. SO. GOOD.

The crab cakes were okay.

But the LOBSTER ROLLS. My, oh my. Out of the three lobster rolls we tried over the weekend, we both agreed that this was the most worth. Nothing tops Neptune’s hot buttery lobster roll, but we’re both college students who can’t afford to eat like that on a regular basis. So for this price, this lobster roll was absolutely delicious. Huge chunks of lobster that just melted in my mouth. SO GOOD.

Not pictured: the clam chowder. The clam chowder was also definitely worth it. Creamier than Neptunes and the consistency was more what I had expected for the soup.

They also have oysters, but we went too late and they were sold-out already.

Check out their website for more information!

 

Crescent Ridge Ice Cream (Boston Public Market)

Store information same as Red’s Best above.

 

Got this after going to Red’s Best. The mint chocolate was really great! Would definitely recommend this over Emack & Bolio’s. Great texture and flavor. They had some other fruit flavors that were amazing, but I ended up picking my all time favorite flavor just because I always get the same thing.

 

TATTE BAKERY

HOURS:

Monday-Friday: 7AM-8PM

Saturday: 8AM-8PM

Sunday: 8AM-7PM

PHONE: (617) 723-5555

ADDRESS: 70 Charles St, Boston, MA 02114  MAP

Our last stop before heading to the airport! It was a cute bakery that my friend found, with a couple locations throughout Boston and the Cambridge area.

I was craving some greens after eating seafood all weekend and the salad was surprisingly good.

Check out their website for all of their locations and menus!

 

And that concludes my Boston trip! Took me a while to get around to posting, and going through all of the pictures made me miss the city and the amazing seafood. Will definitely be taking another trip there one day 🙂

Leave a comment